Election: APC wins four out of nine reps declared in Ogun

Estimated reading time: 5 minute(s)

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has clinched three more House of Representatives seats in Ogun State, winning all four so far declared out of nine federal constituencies in the state.

Olumide Osoba (APC) won Abeokuta North/ Odeda/Obafemi Owode, Lanre Edun (APC) won Abeokuta South, while Korede Osunsanya, also of APC, was declared the winner of Ijebu-Ode/Ijebu-North/Odogbolu federal constituency.

It was earlier reports that the APC had won Ado-Odo/Ota Federal Constituency’s seat in the State.

Olumide, son of a former governor of the state and chieftain of APC, Chief Olusegun Osoba, polled a total of 33, 538 votes to defeat the incumbent, Mikhail Kazeem of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), who scored 14,903 votes.

The result was announced by the Returning Officer, Prof. Ismaila Salami, at Unity High School Collation Centre, Ago- Ika, Abeokuta.

At the Centenary Hall collation centre for the Abeokuta-South federal constituency, the Returning Officer, Prof. Bameke Oyedele, declared APC’s Edun as the winner, having polled a total of 17,003 votes.

He defeated his closest rival, Mr Segun Showunmi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored a total of 8,608 votes.

Similarly, Prof. Michael Ozoje, the Returning Officer at Ijebu-Ode Local Government Collation Centre, declared Osunsanya as the winner of Ijebu-Ode/Ijebu North-East/Odogbolu seat with a total of 25,608 votes.

Mr Taiwo Shote, the PDP candidate who came closest to Osunsanya, scored total votes of 21,775.

Results of the polls for the five remaining federal constituency seats were being awaited as at the filing of this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *