NANS to NASS: Stop payment of acceptance fees in tertiary institutions

Estimated reading time: 5 minute(s)

Abdulqudus Ogundapo


The National Association of Nigerian Students has begged the 9th National Assembly members-elect to enact a law when they assume office that will stop the collection of acceptance fees in tertiary institutions across the country.

The apex students body made this request during a press conference held at the Ogun state secretariats of the Nigerian Union of Journalists to set agenda for the lawmakers.

The release which was read by the National Public Relations Officer of NANS, Com. Azeez Adeyemi described the payment of acceptance fees in Tertiary Institutions as a means of extorting sons and daughter of the poor.

He further stressed that the 9th National Assembly members should pass a bill that will declare total free education to all tertiary institutions in the country.

Adeyemi added that the incoming lawmakers should also enact a bill that will compel all governors to pay world standard bursary to students in the state.

He also advised the lawmakers to pass a bill that will stop the governing council and senate of the universities from expelling and suspending students’ union leaders or executive respectively.

He said “We have heard enough about the 8th National Assembly and if the truth must be told, the outgoing Dr Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara leadership in the 8th national assembly is a political battle between the legislative arm and the executive arm that almost killed the joy of the common man.

“We are not happy that no single bill was neither pushed by the red chamber nor green chamber that supported the student constituency directly.

“NANS is concerned about how the National Assembly can better the lives of the poor masses. If we have allowed the National Assembly to go like a snake on the mountain without an impact, NANS is not going to close her eyes to see the 9th Assembly progressing in the same error”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *