NUJ orders caretaker c’ttee to takeover Ogun council 

Estimated reading time: 7 minute(s)

 … Writes Amosun, CP, DG DSS

Kushoro Faruq & Oluwatobi Odeyinka

The national leadership of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) under the leadership of  Chris Isiguzo,  has ordered a caretaker committee to immediately take over the affairs of its Ogun State Council for a period of three months. 

The caretaker committee will take charge of the council’s affairs and conduct a fresh election after the annulment of the previous election which was conducted on March 29th producing Com. Soji Amosun as Chairman among others.

This was contained in a letter signed by the Assistant national secretary Gbemiga Bamidele and dated 13th May.

Copies of the letter have been sent to the Commissioner of Police, Director, Department of the State Security Service (DSS), Commissioner for Information and the Governor of the state, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; to inform them of the new development.

The letter also stated that hence, the caretaker committee remained the authentic officials of the union until another election is conducted.

The letters emphasized that the union’s highest ruling body, Central Working Committee (CWC), inaugurated the committee at its meeting on Tuesday, May 7, 2019, explaining that, this followed irregularities which marred the March 29,2019 election in the state.

The letter with reference number NUJ/NS/SC/84/VOL 1, added that members of the Committee include; Kayode Taiwo(Chairman), Segun Lawole(Secretary), Adewole Dosunmu(Member), Ayo Obadimu(Member) and Dele Ayodo(Member).

The letter with the heading, Caretaker Committee for Ogun State Council Nigeria Union of Journalists reads,” Consequent to complaints following inability of member of some chapels to participate in the state council’s election that took place on March 29, 2019, The Central Working Committee (CWC) during its meeting on Tuesday, May 7,2019 resolved that the election be cancelled, and a caretaker committee be inaugurated.

“Subsequently, the caretaker committee has been set up, in accordance to Article 5(c)(9)(c) of the NUJ constitution.

” Members of the committee are; Kayode Taiwo(Chairman), Segun Lawole(Secretary), Adewole Dosunmu(Member), Ayo Obadimu(Member) and Dele Ayodo(Member).”

It further reads, “The Committee shall take over and run the affairs of the union and conduct fresh elections within three months, or as directed by the National Secretariat.

“We write to inform His Excellency, the Commissioner of Police, Director, State Security Service, Commissioner of Information”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *