Seven days after reinstatement, Amosun’s LG Chairmen tenure expire

Share the Story

Estimated reading time: 3 minute(s)

Sodiq Ojuroungbe

Barely seven days after the Ogun State House of Assembly lifted the suspension it placed on Chairmen of the 20 Local Governments (LGs) and the 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state, the LG chairman would retire today, PLATFORM TIMES report.

The tenure of the chairmen came to an end around 12 am on Thusday morning after they spent three years in offices having been sworn in on October 10, 2016.

It would be recalled that the chairmen were suspended by the eighth legislature led by former Speaker Suraju Adekunbi at the twilight of its expiration shortly after Amosun left office on May 29, few days after Governor Dapo Abiodun placed an embargo on the LGs and LCDAs accounts.

PLATFORM TIMES however gathered that the chairmen were asked to hand over to Head of the Local government Administration (HOLGA) and retire from office as the head.

PLATFORM TIMES also learnt that the HOLGAs would continue to run the Local government areas, and Local council development areas until the substantial appointments of Transition Commitee Chairmen who would be Dapo Abiodun’s men.

Share the Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *