APC floors PDP in Ogun supplementary election

Share the Story

Estimated reading time: 6 minute(s)

Sodiq Ojuroungbe

The All Progressives Congress has won all the three local government areas where re-run election was held for the Ijebu-Ode/Odogbolu/Ijebu North East Federal Constituency area of Ogun state.

The independent National Electoral Commission on Saturday announced that the APC candidate, Kolapo Osunsanya polled the highest votes to defeat his close rival of the Peoples Democratic Party, Taiwo Shote.

The election results which were announced by the returning officer, Prof.Charles Onwuka said Osunsanya polled 25,595, while Shote scored 21,911 in the supplementary election.

PLATFORM TIMES recalls that Osunsanya was sacked by the National and State Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal in Ogun State on September 9, 2019, following a petition filed by Shote.

PLATFORM TIMES also reports that the tribunal ordered a rerun within 90 days.

Osunsanya had approached the Court of Appeal having not satisfied with the judgement delivered by Justice Wakkil Alkali Gana, which upheld the petition of Shote and cancelled elections in Ward 5, Unit 5 in Ijebu Ode; Ward 10, Unit 3 in Odogbolu and the entire Ward 8 in Ijebu North East council areas.

The tribunal held that INEC ought not to have declared Osunsanya as the winner of the election, in line with the provisions of the Electoral Act, because the margin of lead and difference between the petitioner and 1st respondent was less than 4,000 while the total number of cancelled votes was 8,800.

PLATFORM TIMES further reports that on November 6, 2019, the Court of Appeal sitting in Ibadan upheld the judgement of the tribunal.

READ  Ogun Peace Corps warns Nigerians against impostors, says they don't Carry firearms

However, the supplementary election was held at the wards where election was cancelled include; ward 5, unit 5 in Ijebu Ode; ward 10, unit 3 in Odogbolu and the entire ward 8 in Ijebu North East council areas.

The returning officer who was from Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta declared Osunsanya as winner.

Prof. Onwuka further described the election as free, fair and credible.

Share the Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *