2023: Abeokuta grammar school old students recommend colleague, Prof. Soyelu as INEC Chairman

Estimated reading time: 9 minute(s)

…get new executives

Olasunkanmi Akinlotan

In the bid to have a free, fair and credible general election in 2023 under a leadership of an integrity oriented personality , Newly elected President of the Old Students Association of Abeokuta Grammar School, 8186 set, Mr Ayo Aderounmu, has suggested Prof. Lekan Soyelu, for the post of the Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC .

Prof Soyelu got this recommendation after conducting an itch free election which ushered in a new set of executives led by Mr Aderounmu, who will be piloting the affairs of the association for the next two years .

Aderounmu said this while reading his acceptance speech at the annual General Meeting of the Club held through Zoom, on 25th July 2020.

He said, ” I appreciate all electoral members led by Prof. Lekan Soyelu, for a job well done. You conducted an election free of any manipulations and court injunctions. If opportunity arises I will recommend you to be in charge of 2023 election in Nigeria. God bless you”.

Aderounmu who described his nomination as a perfect coup of the year 2020, noted that it came as a surprise.

He however appreciated the efforts of the pioneer executives led by Otunba Tunde Aigoro, for numerous achievements made since they came on board in 2017, which include but not limited to; building of the school gate and donation of class rooms.

He further pledged a democratic style of leadership, emphasising a goal oriented and servant – leadership approach while also assuring members that, he will do all within his power to move the association to a ” Next Positive Level ” With the a cooperation of other executive members.

Other members of the executives include; Chief (Mrs) Modupe Babarinsa-Labode , Vice President, Dr. Gbenga Kehinde, Secretary, Mr Bosun Lawore, Financial Secretary, Mrs Yemi Macjob-Adebajo, Social Secretary, and Mrs Kemi Olaosebikan Ogundare, PRO .

While the old executives are; Otunba Gbolahan Tunde Aigoro, Dr. Bola Tiodunmo, Mr Olutoye Olutayo. , Hon. Victor Fasanya , Chief (Mrs) Modupe Babarinsa-Labode and Alhaji Adebayo Olasheu.

“Let me specially appreciate the good work of our pioneer executives led by able and ever dynamic Otunba Tunde Aigoro for numerous achievements made since they came on board in 2017.

“The exemplary leadership of the pioneer executive was a true reflection of good morals, intelligence and hard work genes meticulously injected in us by all our teachers, especially our barytonos Principal, Baba F.O Oridota (may His soul continue to rest in perfect peace) Amen.
We are lucky to have them as our moulders.

” I am proud of all the pioneer executive members. Your are all great ambassadors. God bless you all in your future assignments.

“To all members of Agsoba 8186, I do not take this opportunity given to me for granted. Be assured that I and my executive members will put in our very best.

“My leadership style shall be all inclusive, democratic, goal oriented and servant – leadership. Suggestions and criticism are welcome at all times. Personally, I have a clear vision tagged ” Next Positive Level ” that will make our 8186 set great and outstanding among all Agsoba sets. God helping us”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *