Five LGs Missing From Commissioners’ List As Abiodun Swears-in Cabinet In Ogun

Daud Olatunji

Not less than five local government areas of Ogun State, were notably absent from the list of commissioners sworn in by Governor  Dapo Abiodun.

 The swearing-in ceremony took place four months after Abiodun assumed office as the governor of the state, and it included the induction of 20 commissioners and 22 Special Advisers in Abeokuta, the state capital.

PLATFORM TIMES reports that these  appointees underwent rigorous screening and were subsequently approved by the state House of Assembly.

PLATFORM TIMES’ analysis of the appointments revealed that five local government areas, namely Ipokia, Ogun Waterside, Odogbolu, Ijebu East, and Remo North, were conspicuously excluded from the list of commissioners.

 The exclusions have left many residents and stakeholders from these regions wondering about the implications for their communities.

PLATFORM TIMES  conducted an analysis, revealing that while some local governments were left without any commissioner representation, others held two or even four slots. 

For instance, Ijebu Ode was granted four commissioner slots out of the 20, focusing on key areas like Finance, Transportation, Education, and Physical Planning.

Abeokuta-North secured two commissioner slots responsible for Forestry and the Attorney-General’s office. Similarly, Sagamu also obtained two slots overseeing Special Duties and Environment.

 In contrast, the remaining local governments received one commissioner slot each, further emphasizing the disparities in representation.

Notably, some key officers who had previously worked closely with Governor Abiodun during his first term were conspicuously missing from the list.

 The absence of prominent figures such as former Commissioner for Agriculture, Samson Odedina, former Commissioner for Industry, Trade, and Investment, Kikelomo Alonge,  former Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Waheed Odusile , Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Politics, Tunji Egbetokun, and Special Adviser to the Governor on Public Communications, Remmy Hazzan, has raised questions about the reasons behind their exclusion.

Another noteworthy observation was the absence of a commissioner for the Ministry of Information, mirroring a pattern from Abiodun’s first term. 

Questions have emerged about the implications of this decision for the flow of information and communication from the state government.

Furthermore, it was reported that Governor Abiodun had requested the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Ogun State Council to nominate two members for appointments to his media team.

However, as of now, these appointments remain unconfirmed, leaving the media landscape awaiting clarification.

The exclusion of certain local government areas and the absence of key figures from the governor’s second term have left the state’s political landscape abuzz with speculation and curiosity. 

Residents and stakeholders will be closely watching the impact of these developments on their communities and the governance of Ogun State.

Those sworn-in as Commissioners are Mr. Dapo Okubadejo, Mr. Olaolu Olabimtan, Jagunmolu Jamiu Omoniyi Akande, Engr. Adebowale Akinsanya, Mr. Olusina Ogungbade, Dr. Tomi Coker, 

Prof. Abayomi Arigbabu, Hon. Ganiyu Hamzat, Engr. Oludotun Taiwo, Mr. Adebola Sofela, Hon. (Mrs) Olufemi Oduntan Ilori, Hon. (Mrs) Adijat Adeleye, Engr. Olugbenga Dairo, Hon. Bolu Owotomo, Mr. Oladimeji Oresanya, Hon. Ademola Balogun, Mr. Sesan Fagbayi, TPL Olatunji Odunlami, Hon. (Mrs) Olufunmilayo Temidayo Efuape and Hon. Wasiu Isiaka. 

The Special Advisers are; Arch Biodun Fari-Arole, Hon. (Otunba) Babatunde Olaotan, Mr. Dayo Abiodun, Mr. Olusola Subair Kamar (AIG RTD), Chief Segun Fowora, Babatunde Akeem Adesina, Princess Peju Shote, Hon. Tajudeen Egunjobi, Dr. Leke Otegbeye, Ayotunde Olambiwoninu Lawal, Hon. Kayode Akinmade, 

Oyindamola Oyelese, Ap Biodun Sanyaolu, Mr. Seyi Ogunseye, Hon. Adebiyi Adeleye, Hon. Rasak Oluwakemi Daddah, Chief Jide Ojuko, Sola Arobieke, Dr. Reuben Olurotimi Ogungbe, Yemisi Dawodu, Ronke Soyombo and Abayomi Hunye.

Responding on behalf of the new Commissioners, Mr. Dapo Okubadejo, appreciated the governor for counting them worthy of the appointment, pledging total loyalty and commitment to the ethical values of fairness, accountability and inclusiveness.

Engr. Akeem Adesina responding on behalf of the Special Advisers, pledged better performance, adding that they would be more focus and dedicated to their assigned duties.


Do you want to share a story with us? Do you want to advertise with us? Do you need publicity for a product, service, or event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348183319097 Email: platformtimes@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button