Live TV Coverage Announced For 6th September Judgment In Tinubu, Obi, Atiku’s Election Petitions

The Presidential Election Petition Court (PEPC) has officially confirmed that it will deliver judgment on Wednesday, September 6, in response to the petitions filed by Peter Obi, Atiku Abubakar, and the Allied Peoples Movement challenging the election of President Bola Tinubu.

Initial rumors of the judgment date were quashed by lawyers close to the parties, who claimed they had not been notified as promised by PEPC Chairman, Justice Haruna Tsammani, when judgment was reserved on August 1. 

However, a press statement from the chief registrar of the court, Umar Bangari, has now verified the date.

The PEPC has announced that the judgment in these three petitions will be broadcast live on television “to promote transparency and openness.” Additionally, access to the court premises will be strictly granted through accreditation, with only authorized individuals, including counsel and political party representatives, allowed inside the courtroom.

For the interested public, the PEPC has advised watching the proceedings from their television sets to avoid overcrowding at the court premises.

The petitioners in this case include the Labour Party (LP), the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and the Allied Peoples Movement (APM). They seek to challenge President Bola Tinubu’s election win, each presenting their own reasons for disqualification or the argument that the election complied with the Electoral Act.

Lawyers have urged Nigerians to dismiss any news suggesting that judgment would be delivered on Wednesday, September 6, underscoring the importance of waiting for the official announcement.

The PEPC, composed of five judges including Chairman Justice Haruna Tsammani, Justice Stephen Adah, Justice Misitura Bolaji-Yusuf, Justice Boloukuoromo Ugo, and Justice Abbah Mohammed, commenced hearing the petitions on May 8.

Here’s a brief profile of the judges on the panel:

Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Chairman):

Educated at LEA Primary School, Tafawa Balewa, and Government Secondary School, Maiduguri.

Graduated from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, with a law degree.

Called to the bar in 1983.

Appointed as a judge of the Bauchi state High Court in 1998.He was later appointed to the Court of Appeal.

Hon. Justice Stephen Jonah Adah:

Born on July 30, 1957, in Dekina, Kogi state. He was appointed as a judge of the Appeal Court in November 2012.

Justice Misitura Bolaji-Yusuf:

Born on August 7, 1959, in Oyo. Completed her law degree at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife. He was called to the bar in 1984.

Joined the bench of Oyo state in January 1997 and was appointed to the Court of Appeal in March 2014.


Hon. Justice Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo:

Born on June 7, 1965, in Kolokuma Bayelsa State.

Called to the bar in 1990.Appointed to Bayelsa High Court in 2006 and later became a judge of the Appeal Court.Hon. Justice Abba Bello Mohammed: Born on February 19, 1961, from Kano State.He was calledto the bar in 1985.He was appointed a judge of the High Court of FCT in 2010 and later to the Appeal Court in June 2021.

Do you want to share a story with us? Do you want to advertise with us? Do you need publicity for a product, service, or event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348183319097 Email: platformtimes@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button