Seven  Judges Under Probe As NJC Dismisses Petition Against  Odili, 25 Others  

No fewer than seven judges  accused of engaging in sundry acts of corruption are  under probe .


The  National Judicial Council says it  has set up panels to probe the judges .


NJC said this in a statement signed by the Director of Information at the NJC, Mr. Soji Oye.


Oye said the meeting was chaired by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Kayode Ariwoola, who doubles as the chairman of the council.


The NBA president, Yakubu Maikyau in a statement had described as shocking a public confession by Senator Adamu Bulkachuwa that he influenced decisions of his wife, Justice Zainab Bulkachuwa, while she was the president of the appellate court, calling for an investigation. 


Reacting to the NBA president’s demand for probe, said the NJC said he council  said it considered reports from various investigation committees and the Preliminary Complaints Assessment Committees on petitions written against 33 judicial officers from both the appellate and the high courts, and agreed with the recommendation of the committee that the seven judges have questions to answer.


Nevertheless, the NJC disclosed that petitions against 26 others, including a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Mary Peter Odili, were dismissed. “The dismissed petitions were written against Hon. Justice Mary Peter Odili, Rtd Justice of the Supreme Court, Hon. Justices A. R. Barka, James G. Abundaga, O. O. Olasumbo Goodluck, Ibrahim A. Andetur-Yangsto all of the Court of Appeal, Hon. Justices F. O. Liman, A. R. Mohammed, H. A. A. Dashen, Peter Lifu, F. O. G. Ogunbanjo, A. Lewis Allagoa, D. E. Osiagor all of the Federal High Court.


“Others are Hon. Justice Theresa O. Diai, Chief Judge, Delta State, Hon. Justices S. B. Belgore, K. N. Ogbonnaya Jude Onwuegbuzie, Edward Okpe of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, Hon. Justices Joseph I Acha, Vesty O. Eboreime, both of High Court, Edo State, Hon. Justices Thelma Adanna Achom, Elvis A. Ngene of the Ebonyi State High Court, Hon. Justices A. B. Usman, M. M. Abubakar of Bauchi State High Court, Hon. Justice O. A. Opesanwo of the Lagos State High Court, Justice Oladiran Akintola of Oyo State High Court, Justice Gegele A. Hammed of Kwara State High Court, Justice K. N. Udobong of Akwa-Ibom State High Court, ” among others.


Do you want to share a story with us? Do you want to advertise with us? Do you need publicity for a product, service, or event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348183319097 Email: platformtimes@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button