Distinguished Landscape Awards Presented To OGSG, FUNAAB, BABCOCK, Pioneers Of Horticulture

By Daud Olatunji

In a celebration of remarkable achievements in the realm of Landscape Horticulture, the Nigeria Institute of Landscape Horticulturists (NILH) has announced a prestigious set of awards for several noteworthy institutions and individuals.

 These awards recognize their unwavering support and contributions to the advancement of professional practices within the field.

The honourees include the Ogun State Government, the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), and Babcock University in Ilishan-Remo, among others. Their dedication and efforts towards Landscape Horticulture have earned them a place in the limelight.

Government and Institutional Accolades

In a joint statement issued by the Chairperson of the Local Organizing Committee, Mrs. O V Idowu, and the Secretary, Mr. Donatus Ilem, it was revealed that the awards will be presented during the 16th National Conference and Annual General Meeting of NILH, hosted by the Ogun State Chapter.

 The award ceremony is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, November 21, 2023, at the Center of Excellence in Agricultural Development and Sustainable Environment (CEADESE) at the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta.

Ogun State Government and Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo, have both been acknowledged in the Governmental/Institutional category. The former will receive a Special Recognition Award for its significant contributions to environmental landscape and beautification initiatives. 

FUNAAB and Babcock University, on the other hand, will be honoured with Institutional Recognition Awards for their role in promoting the professional practice of Landscape Horticulture.


Individual Distinction

Notable figures within the field of Landscape Horticulture will also be recognized for their remarkable contributions. Prof. Olaiya  Olufemi  Balogun, erstwhile Vice-Chancellor of FUNAAB, is to receive the prestigious NILH award, while the university itself will be conferred with an Institutional Recognition Award for its promotion of professional Landscape Horticulture practices.

Additionally, Prof. Olufemi Balogun will be adorned with the Distinguished Personality Award for his outstanding support and contributions to the professional practice of Landscape Horticulture.

Under the Individual Category, Dr. Mrs. Taiwo Adamson, former Provost of the Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital Aro, Prof. S.O. Afolami, former Vice-Chancellor of Augustine University in Ilara, Epe, and Dr. A.A. Ajayi, former Provost of the Federal College of Education, Osiele, are set to be honoured for their commendable support and development of the professional practice of Landscape Horticulture.

The forthcoming awards ceremony promises to be a celebration of the remarkable strides taken by these institutions and individuals in advancing the field of Landscape Horticulture.

 It signifies the importance of recognizing and appreciating those who have dedicated themselves to enhancing the beauty and environmental sustainability of our surroundings

Do you want to share a story with us? Do you want to advertise with us? Do you need publicity for a product, service, or event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348183319097 Email:

Related Articles

Back to top button